Published: 08 Jan 2019

Why you should be buying only hallmarked gold jewellery?

While buying gold jewellery, you must ensure that the gold you are buying is pure and certified by the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS). To certify the purity of gold jewellery, BIS does hallmarking on the gold jewellery. BIS hallmarking consists of four components which are as follows:

  1. BIS Mark;
  2. Fineness number;
  3. Assaying and Hallmarking Centre's Mark/Number;
  4. Jeweller's Identification mark